Consumed received 5 star ratings across the board from
all reviewers at Reader’s Favorite, in all categories:

BUG-5 Star RatingV3Overall Starred Rating
BUG-5 Star RatingV3Concept, Characters, Originality
BUG-5 Star RatingV3 Description, Dialogue, Creativity, Organization, Length, Fluidity, Coherence 
BUG-5 Star RatingV3Theme, Subject Matter, Size of Target Audience
BUG-5 Star RatingV3Editing, Proofreading, Layout
BUG-5 Star RatingV3Cover, Construction, Chapter Organization

Michael W. Bugni is the best thing to happen for
honorable young lawyers since John Grisham

BUG-5 Star RatingV3 Reviewed by Ray Simmons for Readers’ Favorite, April 2014

If you like stories about lawyers, you will love Consumed. In fact, Michael W. Bugni is the best thing to happen for honorable young lawyers since John Grisham. He has crafted an excellent story. His instinct for portraying the right scene at the right time is perfect. I predict a future of considerable commercial and critical success.

An Excellent Thriller

BUG-5 Star RatingV3 Five Stars from Maria Beltran for Reader’s Favorite, April 2014

Consumed has all the elements of an excellent thriller; a beautiful and cunning woman, a susceptible admirer, a meticulous investigator, huge amounts of money, and more. As Bugni weaves the story, the excitement builds. Just as one thinks the conspiracy is exposed, we are back to square one. It was difficult to stop reading this story of intrigue, friendship, betrayal, love and greed. Consumed provides an interesting glimpse into the select world of high technology but, above all, it exposes the weaknesses and strengths of human nature.

A Fascinating Read

BUG-5 Star RatingV3 Five Stars from Lit Amri for Reader’s Favorite, April 2014

Michael W. Bugni’s Consumed is a fast-paced, multifaceted thriller that centers on Seattle’s high-tech elite. Bugni’s crisp prose, clever plotting, and believable dialogue all add up to a fascinating read. I appreciate the perfect length of each chapter and the brisk pacing. Overall, Consumed is an excellent crime-thriller with substantial suspense from start to finish.

A Suspenseful Tale Of Deceit and Adultery

BUG-5 Star RatingV3 Five Stars from Lisa McCombs for Reader’s Favorite, April 2014

Michael W. Bugni creates a suspenseful tale of deceit and adultery in this novel that refuses to be put down. Each time the reader thinks the crime is solved and the roller coaster ride has ended, another twist creates fresh questions in the reader’s mind. Consumed is very readable to even the novice “techie.”

A Triumph of a Thriller

BUG-5 Star RatingV3 Five Stars from Kathryn Bennett for Reader’s Favorite, April 2014

I haven’t read a thriller this good in a long time; well thought-out and keeps you snared in the story from start to finish. The first chapter hooked me into the tangled web and by the end I wished it wasn’t over. You will not be able to put this down once you start. Author Michael W. Bugni has truly created a triumph of a thriller. I would heartily recommend this book to anyone who loves the genre.

Best Novel I’ve Read in Years!

By Bob M., April 2014

Consumed is simply a FANTASTIC read! It grabs you from the first paragraph and never lets you go! Suspense and technology smartly intersect, creating sweat-inducing, palpable entertainment. Can’t wait for the sequel and/or the movie! Highly recommend.

A Book You Can’t Put Down

By S. Fields, April 2014

OMG. What a thrilling ride Michael Bugni has created. I could not put this book down. I bought the hard copy but had to download it also on my Kindle so I could read it while waiting in court or waiting at stop lights. I can’t wait for the sequel. Darn. I didn’t want it to end.

It’s also a delight (in these days of
quickly cobbled together e-book fodder) …

By J. Kent, April 2014

Thoroughly engaging mystery that keeps you guessing (and thinking). Plot twists in this complex yarn raise this one above the norm for this genre. The local flavor and attention to detail are especially pleasing, as are the numerous excursions into the intrigue of high tech industrial espionage. It’s also a delight (in these days of quickly cobbled together e-book fodder) to see a first offering so thoroughly edited and polished.

A well written thriller

By J. Shipman, April 2014

As a family law attorney, I was interested in this book. Bugni does an excellent job of interweaving real world family law situations with exciting suspense. I read the book in just a few days on vacation, and I had a hard time putting it down. I recommend Consumed.


By K. Olson, April 2014

I was hooked all the way to the end of this book and wanted more. An amazing first book! Great read!

Buy the Book